Posts Tagged "Turquie"

SHIPBREAKING – Bulletin of information and analysis on end-of-life ships

25 Oct 2014

2018 – 2017 201620152014201320122011 2010200920082007 –  2006

Ships sent to demolition in 2021

Shipbreaking #64– from July 1, 2021 to September 30, 2021, pdf 85 pages, 16.1 Mo

Sallie Knutsen, Alang © Eren Topcu

Shipbreaking #63– from April 1, 2021 to June 30, 2021, pdf 76 pages, 12.4 Mo

Eide Traveler, Bay of Brest (France), February 4, 2009. © Erwan Guéguéniat

Ships sent to demolition in 2020

Shipbreaking #62– from October 1, 2020 to March 31, 2021, pdf 122 pages, 19.7 Mo

Shipbreaking #61 – from July 1 to Septembre 30, 2020, pdf 71 pages, 12.8 Mo

Shipbreaking #60 – from April 1 to June 30, 2020, pdf 55 pages, 9.4 Mo

Lire la suite

The Atlantic Star scam

4 Apr 2013

The Atlantic Star remained disused in Marseille for more than 2 years. Construction of the Atlantic Star at La Seyne-sur-Mer in 1984 had mobilized, as in all cruise ships, significant amounts of asbestos.

The ship belonged to the Spanish shipowner Pullmantur, a subsidiary of the American company Royal Caribbean Cruise Line. Her operation became prohibitive; replacing her steam turbines with a diesel propulsion was impossible. The Atlantic Star, still in the hands of Spanish interests, remained under the European flag of Malta until March 1, 2013.

Lire la suite

The whole Clemenceau affair for this…?

26 Mar 2013

In 2013, when the former Atlantic Star, renamed Antic, leaves Marseille for demolition at Alang without asbestos removal, silence reigns.

In 2006, when the former Clemenceau, renamed hull Q790, went to Alang for demolition after a partial asbestos removal in France, a politically correct, unanimous roar rang out.

The Atlantic Star is a 240m-long ship built in 1984 in the shipyards of La Seyne-sur-Mer in France, an asbestos stronghold. It was abandoned in Marseille in 2010. The Atlantic Star belonged to the Spanish subsidiary of the Royal Caribbean Cruise Line (RCCL).

Lire la suite

Illegal export of hazardous waste to Turkey

20 Mar 2013

The ship was docked along the main jetty of the port of Marseille. Since September 2010, she imposed herself as a five-star squatter while, despite her silhouette and red chimney, she tried to blend in and make believe that her port of call was temporary.

Initially her stopover in Marseille was technical. There was talk of replacing steam turbines with diesel engines. From technical, the stopover quickly became economical. There is no future for a ship built 30 years ago without considerable expense and a regulatory upgrade.

Lire la suite

For scrap and adrift, this is Canada’s motto

29 Jan 2013

Lyubov Orlova, Press release # 1

Canada often sends its used commercial vessels to be broken up a long way away, in particular in Turkey.

In September 2011, the Canadian Miner, bound for Aliaga (Turkey) under tow, broke her towline, drifted and ran aground on Scatarie Island, in Nova Scotia. The cost of cutting and dismantling was evaluated at 24 million $. The wreck is dislocating and is a threat to the environment and the local fisheries. The Canadian Miner is still stranded on the island. The removal operations have been cancelled.

Lire la suite

Posts Tagged "Turquie"

A LA CASSE – Bulletin d’information et d’analyses sur les navires en fin de vie

25 oct. 2014

2018 – 2017 201620152014201320122011 2010200920082007 –  2006

Navires partis à la casse en 2021

« A la Casse » n°64 – navires partis à la casse du 1er juin 2021 au 30 septembre 2021, pdf 85 pages, 16,1 Mo

Sallie Knutsen, Alang © Eren Topcu

« A la Casse » n°63 – navires partis à la casse du 1er avril 2021 au 30 juin 2021, pdf 76 pages, 12,4 Mo

Eide Traveler, rade de Brest (France), 4 février 2009. © Erwan Guéguéniat

Navires partis à la casse en 2020

« A la Casse » n°62 – navires partis à la casse du 1er octobre 2020 au 31 mars 2021, pdf 122 pages, 19,6 Mo

« A la Casse » n°61 – navires partis à la casse du 1er juillet au 30 septembre 2020, pdf 72 pages, 12,8 Mo

Lire la suite

La carambouille de l’Atlantic Star

4 avril 2013

L’Atlantic Star est resté désaffecté à Marseille pendant plus de 2 ans. La construction de l’Atlantic Star à La Seyne-sur-Mer en 1984 avait mobilisé, comme pour tous les navires de croisière, des quantités importantes d’amiante.

Le paquebot appartenait à l’armateur espagnol Pullmantur, filiale de la compagnie américaine Royal Caribbean Cruise Line. Son exploitation était devenue prohibitive ; le remplacement des turbines à vapeur par une propulsion diesel était impossible. L’Atlantic Star, toujours aux mains d’intérêts espagnols, est resté sous le pavillon européen de Malte jusqu’au 1er mars 2013.

Lire la suite

Tout le Clemenceau pour ça …

26 mars 2013

En 2013, quand l’ex-Atlantic Star rebaptisé Antic quitte Marseille pour démolition à Alang sans désamiantage, le silence règne.

Lire la suite

Exportation illégale de déchets dangereux vers la Turquie

20 mars 2013

Le paquebot était à quai le long de la grande jetée du port de Marseille. Depuis septembre 2010, il jouait les ventouses de luxe et malgré sa silhouette imposante et sa cheminée rouge, il essayait de se faire oublier ou de faire croire que son escale était provisoire.

Initialement son arrêt à Marseille était technique. Il était question de remplacer les turbines à vapeur par des moteurs diesels. De technique, l’arrêt est vite devenu économique. Plus d’avenir pour un paquebot construit il y a 30 ans, sans des frais considérables et une remise à niveau réglementaire.

Lire la suite

A la casse et à la dérive, telle est la devise du Canada

29 janv. 2013

Lyubov Orlova, communiqué n°1

Le Canada envoie souvent ses navires de commerce usagés à la démolition au diable vauvert, notamment en Turquie.

En Septembre 2011, le Canadian Miner, parti en remorque à destination d’Aliaga (Turquie), avait rompu son amarre, dérivé et s’était échoué sur l’île de Scatarie en Nouvelle-Ecosse. Le coût de son démantèlement était estimé à 24 millions de $. L’épave du Canadian Miner se disloque, elle menace l’environnement et la pêche locale. Le Canadian Miner est toujours sur place. Les opérations de démantèlement sont suspendues.

Lire la suite