The Bomb

20 Jun 2022

The first meeting of States Parties to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) is taking place in Vienna (Austria) from today. The list of the 62 State parties is attached.

Austria, Ireland, Malta and the Holy See stand out as representing Europe in this Treaty.

Finland, Germany, Liechtenstein, Norway, Sweden and Switzerland are participating in the Vienna meeting as observers, thus showing their interest in this Treaty, which is based on the Chemical Weapons Convention.

None of the nuclear weapon States are present in Vienna. France, the UK and the USA even issued a joint statement on July 7, 2017, totally against the Treaty. ” France, the United Kingdom and the United States have not taken part in the negotiation of the treaty on the prohibition of nuclear weapons. We do not intend to sign, ratify or ever become party to it…”

Links to our press releases :
“2017 : The Bastille Day is nuclear”, July 14, 2017 
“Non aux bombes”, October 6, 2017 (only in French)
“The Atomic cartel on the defensive”, December 7, 2017
“Nagasaki, Hiroshima, Nada !”, January 22, 2021
“White flag on nuclear sites”, Feburay 28, 2022

Nuclear test in French Polynesia, circa 1970. Photo CEA/Archives Robin des Bois.



Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article