Posts Tagged "CITES 2010"

The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora about to be reborn as the WTO (World Trade Organization)

25 Mar 2010

The 15th conference of the parties of CITES has just ended in Doha. The porbeagle shark was put back on the table following the intervention of Singapore, which believed that there had been technical problems with the first vote. The debates were evaded by a procedural trick and the proposal passed directly to vote. The proposal was rejected by three votes. Iceland, candidate to join the European Union, and Japan, which will host the Conference for Biodiversity next October, in showing the best intentions in the world, warmly hugged each other in the middle of the conference room to congratulate themselves on this failure of Europe and the protectors of sharks. Associations such as the Japan Fisheries Association quickly left to celebrate the result of intense lobbying. Installed to protect endangered species of wild fauna and flora from the excesses of international trade, CITES has progressively become a convention of the protection of trade. The delegate from Guinea summarized yesterday in plenary an analysis of a lot of the participants: “My comment is very bitter; I notice after having carefully listened to the debates that economic considerations dominate the environmental vision.” Decisions on marine species confirmed that the sea is considered by the international community as a reservoir for food, healing and decoration, but when it is time to protect it, it’s almost deserted, just like around Doha.

Lire la suite

The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora about to be reborn as the WTO (World Trade Organization)

25 Mar 2010

The 15th conference of the parties of CITES has just ended in Doha. The porbeagle shark was put back on the table following the intervention of Singapore, which believed that there had been technical problems with the first vote. The debates were evaded by a procedural trick and the proposal passed directly to vote. The proposal was rejected by three votes. Iceland, candidate to join the European Union, and Japan, which will host the Conference for Biodiversity next October, in showing the best intentions in the world, warmly hugged each other in the middle of the conference room to congratulate themselves on this failure of Europe and the protectors of sharks. Associations such as the Japan Fisheries Association quickly left to celebrate the result of intense lobbying. Installed to protect endangered species of wild fauna and flora from the excesses of international trade, CITES has progressively become a convention of the protection of trade. The delegate from Guinea summarized yesterday in plenary an analysis of a lot of the participants: “My comment is very bitter; I notice after having carefully listened to the debates that economic considerations dominate the environmental vision.” Decisions on marine species confirmed that the sea is considered by the international community as a reservoir for food, healing and decoration, but when it is time to protect it, it’s almost deserted, just like around Doha.

Lire la suite

The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora about to be reborn as the WTO (World Trade Organization)

25 Mar 2010

The 15th conference of the parties of CITES has just ended in Doha. The porbeagle shark was put back on the table following the intervention of Singapore, which believed that there had been technical problems with the first vote. The debates were evaded by a procedural trick and the proposal passed directly to vote. The proposal was rejected by three votes. Iceland, candidate to join the European Union, and Japan, which will host the Conference for Biodiversity next October, in showing the best intentions in the world, warmly hugged each other in the middle of the conference room to congratulate themselves on this failure of Europe and the protectors of sharks.

Lire la suite

The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora about to be reborn as the WTO (World Trade Organization)

25 Mar 2010

The 15th conference of the parties of CITES has just ended in Doha. The porbeagle shark was put back on the table following the intervention of Singapore, which believed that there had been technical problems with the first vote. The debates were evaded by a procedural trick and the proposal passed directly to vote. The proposal was rejected by three votes. Iceland, candidate to join the European Union, and Japan, which will host the Conference for Biodiversity next October, in showing the best intentions in the world, warmly hugged each other in the middle of the conference room to congratulate themselves on this failure of Europe and the protectors of sharks. Associations such as the Japan Fisheries Association quickly left to celebrate the result of intense lobbying. Installed to protect endangered species of wild fauna and flora from the excesses of international trade, CITES has progressively become a convention of the protection of trade. The delegate from Guinea summarized yesterday in plenary an analysis of a lot of the participants: “My comment is very bitter; I notice after having carefully listened to the debates that economic considerations dominate the environmental vision.” Decisions on marine species confirmed that the sea is considered by the international community as a reservoir for food, healing and decoration, but when it is time to protect it, it’s almost deserted, just like around Doha.

Lire la suite

Shark passes the test

23 Mar 2010

Only 86 species of fish appear among some 34,000 species listed in Appendices 1 and 2 of CITES. After the bluefin tuna debacle last week, predictions were pessimistic about the fate of the 4 proposals to list sharks in Appendix 2. The porbeagle shark is the only to achieve this protection, which it made by only one vote. CITES doesn’t really have its sea legs. When it comes to addressing international trade in marine species, it delays taking responsibility, and using its toolbox to clean up the market. Japan is opposed to all of the proposals for listing sharks, even reconsidering the principle of control of international trade: “Appendix 2 stimulates the black market and creates a demand for a rare species.”

Lire la suite

Posts Tagged "CITES 2010"

La Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction en passe d’être rachetée par l’OMC (Organisation Mondiale du Commerce)

25 mars 2010

CITES 2010 – Doha
Communiqué n°8 – FIN

La 15ème Conférence des Parties à la CITES vient de s’achever à Doha. Le requin taupe a été remis sur la table suite à l’intervention de Singapour qui a estimé qu’il y avait eu des problèmes techniques lors du premier vote. Les débats ont été escamotés par une astuce de procédure et la proposition est directement repassée au vote. Elle a été rejetée à trois voix près. L’Islande, candidate à l’Union européenne, et le Japon qui accueille en octobre prochain la Conférence pour la Biodiversité en affichant les meilleures intentions du monde se sont chaleureusement tombés dans les bras au milieu de la salle de conférence pour se féliciter de cet échec de l’Europe et des protecteurs des requins. Les associations telles que Japan Fisheries Association sont vite sorties pour fêter le résultat d’un lobby intensif. Installée pour protéger les espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction des excès du commerce international, la CITES devient progressivement une convention de protection du commerce. Le délégué de la Guinée a résumé hier en plénière l’analyse de beaucoup de participants : « Ma remarque est fort amère, je constate après avoir attentivement écouté les débats que les considérations économiques dominent la vision environnementale ». Les décisions sur les espèces marines ont confirmé que la mer est considérée par la communauté internationale comme un réservoir pour manger, pour guérir, pour se décorer, mais lorsqu’il s’agit de la protéger, c’est presque le désert, comme autour de Doha.

Lire la suite

La Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction en passe d’être rachetée par l’OMC (Organisation Mondiale du Commerce)

25 mars 2010

CITES 2010 – Doha
Communiqué n°8 – FIN

La 15ème Conférence des Parties à la CITES vient de s’achever à Doha. Le requin taupe a été remis sur la table suite à l’intervention de Singapour qui a estimé qu’il y avait eu des problèmes techniques lors du premier vote. Les débats ont été escamotés par une astuce de procédure et la proposition est directement repassée au vote. Elle a été rejetée à trois voix près. L’Islande, candidate à l’Union européenne, et le Japon qui accueille en octobre prochain la Conférence pour la Biodiversité en affichant les meilleures intentions du monde se sont chaleureusement tombés dans les bras au milieu de la salle de conférence pour se féliciter de cet échec de l’Europe et des protecteurs des requins. Les associations telles que Japan Fisheries Association sont vite sorties pour fêter le résultat d’un lobby intensif. Installée pour protéger les espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction des excès du commerce international, la CITES devient progressivement une convention de protection du commerce. Le délégué de la Guinée a résumé hier en plénière l’analyse de beaucoup de participants : « Ma remarque est fort amère, je constate après avoir attentivement écouté les débats que les considérations économiques dominent la vision environnementale ». Les décisions sur les espèces marines ont confirmé que la mer est considérée par la communauté internationale comme un réservoir pour manger, pour guérir, pour se décorer, mais lorsqu’il s’agit de la protéger, c’est presque le désert, comme autour de Doha.

Lire la suite

La Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction en passe d’être rachetée par l’OMC (Organisation Mondiale du Commerce)

25 mars 2010

CITES 2010 – Doha
Communiqué n°8 – FIN

La 15ème Conférence des Parties à la CITES vient de s’achever à Doha. Le requin taupe a été remis sur la table suite à l’intervention de Singapour qui a estimé qu’il y avait eu des problèmes techniques lors du premier vote. Les débats ont été escamotés par une astuce de procédure et la proposition est directement repassée au vote. Elle a été rejetée à trois voix près. L’Islande, candidate à l’Union européenne, et le Japon qui accueille en octobre prochain la Conférence pour la Biodiversité en affichant les meilleures intentions du monde se sont chaleureusement tombés dans les bras au milieu de la salle de conférence pour se féliciter de cet échec de l’Europe et des protecteurs des requins.

Lire la suite

La Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction en passe d’être rachetée par l’OMC (Organisation Mondiale du Commerce)

25 mars 2010

CITES 2010 – Doha
Communiqué n°8 – FIN

La 15ème Conférence des Parties à la CITES vient de s’achever à Doha. Le requin taupe a été remis sur la table suite à l’intervention de Singapour qui a estimé qu’il y avait eu des problèmes techniques lors du premier vote. Les débats ont été escamotés par une astuce de procédure et la proposition est directement repassée au vote. Elle a été rejetée à trois voix près. L’Islande, candidate à l’Union européenne, et le Japon qui accueille en octobre prochain la Conférence pour la Biodiversité en affichant les meilleures intentions du monde se sont chaleureusement tombés dans les bras au milieu de la salle de conférence pour se féliciter de cet échec de l’Europe et des protecteurs des requins. Les associations telles que Japan Fisheries Association sont vite sorties pour fêter le résultat d’un lobby intensif. Installée pour protéger les espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction des excès du commerce international, la CITES devient progressivement une convention de protection du commerce. Le délégué de la Guinée a résumé hier en plénière l’analyse de beaucoup de participants : « Ma remarque est fort amère, je constate après avoir attentivement écouté les débats que les considérations économiques dominent la vision environnementale ». Les décisions sur les espèces marines ont confirmé que la mer est considérée par la communauté internationale comme un réservoir pour manger, pour guérir, pour se décorer, mais lorsqu’il s’agit de la protéger, c’est presque le désert, comme autour de Doha.

Lire la suite

Un requin passe la barre

23 mars 2010

Convention sur le Commerce International des Espèces de Faune et de Flore sauvages menacées d’extinction
CITES 2010 – Doha
Communiqué n°7

Seules 86 espèces de poissons figurent parmi les quelques 34.000 espèces inscrites aux annexes 1 et 2 de la CITES. Après la débâcle thon rouge de la semaine dernière, les pronostics étaient pessimistes sur le sort des quatre propositions d’inscription de requins en annexe 2. Le requin taupe est le seul à accéder à cette protection et il s’en est fallu d’une voix. La CITES n’a décidément pas le pied marin. Dès qu’il s’agit d’aborder le commerce international des espèces marines, elle tarde à prendre ses responsabilités et à utiliser sa boîte à outils pour assainir les marchés. Le Japon s’est opposé à toutes les propositions d’inscription des requins remettant en cause le principe même du contrôle du commerce international : « L’annexe 2 stimule le marché noir et crée une demande pour une espèce rare ».

Lire la suite