Panama, the great sellout of wild animals and plants

14 Nov 2022

Press release CITES CoP19 n°1

The 19th Conference of the Parties of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) open today, Monday, November 14, in Panama City, the capital city of Panama, and will end on Friday, November 25. The global legal wildlife trade is worth an annual minimum 100 billion dollars. Trafficking fuelled by poaching and smuggling brings in between 7 billion and 23 billion US$ each year to international mafias.

The market for terrestrial and marine wildlife, woods, flowers and roots is in full swing and has benefited from the Covid-19 pandemic. Global demand for songbirds, turtles, ornamental fish is on the rise. In lockdown, middle and upper classes both needed pets and had, despite rising prices, sufficient financial means to buy them via the Internet and social networks. The same is true for animal and plant by-products deemed antidepressants, invigorating or aphrodisiacs, according to opportunely disseminated rumors.

Over 180 States party to CITES are represented in Panama. The Paris-based NGO Robin des Bois (Robin Hood) has been an observer to CITES for 33 years. The information and analysis provided by its quarterly bulletin “On the Trail” on poaching and smuggling are referenced in the proposals to list in Appendix II (regulation of international trade) 6 species of musk turtles, 3 species of American softshell turtles, the desert horned lizard and the timber rattlesnake, as well as in the proposal to suspend all trade of hippopotamus by-products especially ivories and skin. The proposal to list in Appendix II sea cucumbers of the Thelenota genus (including the pineapple sea cucumber) made by the European Union, Seychelles and the United States of America is a logical extension to the listing of 3 species of teatfish sea cucumber species supported and argued by Robin des Bois at the 18th CITES Conference in Geneva.

Brazilwood (Paubrasilia echinata)
Brazil is proposing the listing of Brazilwood in Appendix I (international trade ban). This would apply to all parts and products of Brazilwood, including bows of musical instruments, except musical instruments and their parts composing travelling orchestras and solo musicians carrying musical passports. Brazilwood has been listed in Appendix II since 2007 with an exemption for bows. Listing Brazilwood in CITES Appendix I is intended to reduce pressure on the last native populations of the species. Successive governments, IBAMA (Instituto Brasileiro do Meio Ambiente e dos Recursos Naturais Renováveis) and Brazilian NGOs deplore the persistent illegal exploitation of these medium-sized trees from the Atlantic forests for the manufacture of bows for violins, violas, cellos and double basses. French luthiers in the second half of the 18th century considered Brazilwood to be ideal and irreplaceable for stringed instrument bows. According to the 20th century Larousse dictionary, “the Tourte family was to bows what Stradivarius was to violins”. The bow is made of a Brazilwood stick and by tradition horsehair rubbed with rosin. More than 300 years later, the Brazilwood is in danger of extinction. The United States, all European Union countries, Canada, China, Australia, Switzerland, Argentina and Hong Kong are the main legal or illegal importers of bow and bow blanks. The United States, Japan, Belgium, Germany, the Netherlands, Portugal and France are the main importers of Brazilwood raw material. In 2017, 400 illegally sourced bow blanks were seized at Guarulhos airport, State of Sao Paulo. They were bound for France.

Seizure of 400 bow blanks sent by parcel post to France in 2017.
Photo taken from Brazil’s proposal

In 2019, 102 illegally sourced Brazilwood logs were seized in Aracruz, State of Espírito Santo.
In 2018, 20,747 illegally sourced bow blanks were seized in Joao Neiva, Espírito Santo.
In April 2022, 120 bow blanks and 114 bows, all illegally sourced, were seized on their way to England at Guarulhos airport.

White-rumped shama (Kittacincla malabarica)

© Himanshu Pandav

The white-rumped shama is a good singer and in the forests of 15 Asian countries it imitates the songs of other forest tenors. It is increasingly popular as a pet and sought after as a competitor in singing contests open to betting. As early as 1993 and again in 2004, Nash and Shepherd, experts on Asian song passerines, recommended listing the white-rumped shama in Appendix I or II. In Indonesia, the largest consumer of white-rumped shamas in cages, the species was listed as a protected species in 2018, but after a few weeks of protests by bird-catchers, song contest organisers and so-called enthusiasts, it was removed from the list. In 2019, the plenary meeting of the Asian songbird trade specialist group concluded that most Southeast Asian populations should be considered vulnerable, endangered, or even extinct in the wild. The IUCN has classified the species as Least Concern for too long on the basis that its range covers both mainland and Southeast Asia. Between January 2019 and May 2022, at least 40,000 live white-rumped shamas were seized at the borders of Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Viet Nam and Cambodia without veterinary certificates and sender and recipient datas. A significant number of white-rumped shamas mixed with Oriental magpie-robins are shipped by sea from Malaysia to Indonesia. Malaysia and Singapore propose the listing of the white-rumped shama in Appendix II. Both countries believe and demonstrate that at the past, current and predicted rate of trapping, the species and subspecies would be threatened with extinction in the near future if trafficking is not regulated internationally.

Straw-headed bulbul (Pycnonotus zeylanicus)
Based on the same reasons, but aggravated by a range currently limited to Singapore, a few islets in Peninsular Malaysia, Borneo and Brunei, where only 5 individuals are thought to remain, Malaysia, Singapore and the United States of America are proposing to upgrade the straw-headed bulbul from Appendix II to Appendix I.

Freshwater stingrays
Brazil proposes the listing of freshwater stingrays, the stars of the international ornamental fish market, in Appendix II. The Potamotrygon wallacei and Potamotrygon leopoldi endemic to the Rio Negro, Rio Xingu, Iriri and Curua rivers in the Amazon basin sell for between 130 and 1,000 € per specimen on the international market. Brazil has prohibited their export since 2017 but smugglers declare them under false designations. To counter this method, Brazil is requesting the inclusion of 7 look-alike species of the Potamotrygon genus in Appendix II. Buyers are located in Asia, Europe (especially Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland) and the United States of America. Wholesalers and retailers are always looking for new “models” to sell or to hybridize in farms that are constantly being replenished with breeding stock plundered from rivers. Fishing areas are expanding in search of “Black Diamonds”, “White Diamonds” and “Super Whites”. Brazil is making efforts to counter poaching and smuggling and regularly seizes batches of freshwater stingrays at international airports or others heading by road to the United States via Colombia. Brazil is now calling on international cooperation. The position of the 27 European Union countries has so far been negative. It is “unclear whether the listing would help to fight illegal trade” it says. The powerful aquarium lobby is wiggling around in the EU’s bowl.

Seizure in Montgomery County,
State of Texas, United States of America, August 2021 (see “On the Trail” n°33 p.222).
© TPWD

Zebra pleco (Hypancistrus zebra)
Endemic to the Rio Xingu in the Amazon basin, a zebra pleco retails for 400 € in aquarium shops worldwide. It has been banned from capture, transport and trade in Brazil since 2005 and listed as critically endangered since 2014. Brazil wants to ban all international trade (Appendix I). Fished only for its ornamental attributes, it is now also affected by the Belo Monte hydroelectric dam. Zebra plecos live in rocky crevices and defend their territory vigorously. The males guard the eggs laid in small cavities in the rocks. About 10,000 zebra plecos are believed to be smuggled through Colombia and Peru each month to supply the international trade. Opposition from Indonesia is to be expected; it is keen to protect its exports of farmed zebra plecos and, beyond that, Banggai cardinalfish (Pterapogon kauderni). Here again, the EU is more than reluctant. It could align itself with Indonesia, an essential partner for the import of palm oil, not to mention Liquefied Natural Gas. However, it “could support” an Appendix II listing with a zero quota export for wild specimens, one of its favourite escapes much appreciated by the trade sector.

Seizure at Manaus International Airport,
Amazonas State, Brazil, November 2017 (see “On the Trail” n°19 p.10-11)
© PF

Sharks
Sharks are being put through the wringer. At each CITES plenary since 2007, species are listed in Appendix II in dribs and drabs. For the requiem sharks of the Carcharhinidae family, it is a sacred union from Israel to Syria, via Panama, Sri Lanka, the European Union and the United Kingdom. Their little fins are big business. Perhaps all sharks will finally be listed in Appendix I when they are extinct.

Hippopotamus (Hippopotamus amphibius)
Raising the hippopotamus from Appendix II to Appendix I is not going to be easy. They weigh 3 tonnes and, in this task, the WWF is not to be relied upon. It whispers in the ears of the European Union. Appendix I “would unjustifiably preclude those countries with large populations from deriving benefits from sustainable international trade” in ivory and other parts of the hippo and it “would not address the main threats to the species” in West and Central Africa. These aforementioned main causes are the degradation of natural habitats, human-wildlife conflicts and the demand for wild meat. All wild mammals and reptiles are suffering from these pressures and if WWF’s position was globally applied, CITES with its Appendices should just take a hike and close discussions. The truth is that hippo ivory is becoming more and more popular, that it sells for between 300 and 400 €/kg on the international black market, that throughout Africa hippos are increasingly poached for their teeth, that poaching a hippo is much less criminally risky than poaching an elephant, and that customs around the world are seizing hippo incisors and canines, tails, skin gun cases, skins and skulls without all the applicable Appendix II certificates.

African elephant (Loxodonta africana)
The logic of protection and the headlong rush to extinction are at odds.
Burkina Faso, Equatorial Guinea, Mali and Senegal are proposing the listing of all African elephants in Appendix I as a continuation of the Appendix I listing of all Asian elephants in 1975. Issue 34 of “On the Trail” published on October 25 demonstrates that pan-African poaching and smuggling of ivory and other elephant parts is active and inventive. Singapore seized 430 worked ivories in a consignment of bird cages from Africa in September 2021. Zambia seized 193 kg of elephant skins in October 2021 at the border with Zimbabwe. Ivory smuggling between Africa and Asia was put on pause during Covid-19. Raw ivory travels by sea, but the resumption of trafficking in 2022 is undeniable. 456 kg of raw ivory (with 6 tonnes of pangolin scales) were seized in Viet Nam in January. Six tonnes of raw ivory (with 29 kg of rhino horns and presumed farmed tiger canines) were seized in Malaysia in July. With the seizure of 938 kg of ivory in November 2021 and 1,500 kg in May 2022, the Democratic Republic of the Congo confirms its major role as a reservoir of illegal raw ivory. Robin des Bois, the Franz Weber Foundation, the Brigitte Bardot Foundation and the other 80 NGO members of the Species Survival Network (SSN) support the proposal. Assuming it is approved by 2/3 of the countries present in Panama, it is important to note that the export of “sport” hunting trophies would still be allowed subject to the approval of the recipient countries. Therefore the countries of southern Africa would not be deprived of the resources of hunting tourism. Robin des Bois deplores the fact that France has not actively supported this proposal within the European Union.
Zimbabwe goes against Burkina Faso, Equatorial Guinea, Mali and Senegal. It proposes amendments to the Appendix II listing of the elephant populations of Botswana, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe that would allow for the international sale of hides, hair and “registered government-owned ivory stocks” exclusively to trading partners with national legislation and control measures that ensure that purchased ivory is not re-exported.
This proposal as a whole is dangerous for elephants, all African and Asian elephants. Ivory, hair and hides sold under the seal of legality would somehow be infiltrated by ivory, hair and hides marketed under the seal of poaching and smuggling.
This proposal makes no sense as the import of raw or carved ivory is banned in China, the EU, the USA and many other countries and sub-regions. Perhaps only Japan could take a chance, except that its domestic market is declining and the main outlet for Japanese ivory is smuggling to China.
“It is time to remove the anomaly of having 256,000 elephants on Appendix II being treated as if they are on Appendix I, against the wishes of the people who own them and who have the most to lose or gain from them,” says Zimbabwe. In fact, Botswana claims 131,626 elephants, Namibia 22,754, South Africa 18,841 and Zimbabwe 82,630 referring to the 2016 African Elephant Status Report based on random guesses and estimates that do not consider the trans-boundary migration of elephants between northern Botswana, south-western Zambia, south-eastern Angola and north-western Zimbabwe, i.e. the Kavango-Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area also known as KAZA. KAZA covers 550,000 km2. An elephant can be in Zimbabwe in the morning, in Zambia in the evening and a few days later in Namibia. Elephant statistics in KAZA can be distorted by double or even triple counting. Elephants are deceptive.

Glass frogs (Centrolenidae)
They are the new pet gadgets. The trend is fast and persistent. In the United States, 13 specimens were imported in 2016 and 5,744 in 2021, not including the smuggled ones. Native to Central and tropical South America, glass frogs are going to the scrap heap. All 154 species are threatened. This proposal is presented by Costa Rica, Argentina, Brazil, Ecuador, El Salvador, Panama, Peru, the Dominican Republic, the United States of America, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, Guinea, Niger and Togo. The European Union is against this proposal, and risks making it fail as it did in 2019.

More Frogs
These ones are not pets. They are caught and killed for their legs mainly in Indonesia and Turkey, skinned, mutilated, frozen, irradiated and served hot. Dr. Sandra Altherr, Pro Wildlife, and Charlotte Nithart, Robin des Bois, are organising a side event at the CITES meeting on this environmental, food and trade scandal on November 22 at 7 p.m. with Turkish, German and French experts. See the “Deadly Dish” report on imports of frogs’ legs from Asia and Eastern Europe into the EU.

Access to all issues of “On the Trail”, Robin des Bois’ quarterly information and analysis bulletin on poaching and smuggling of endangered animals, published with the support of the Franz Weber Foundation and the Brigitte Bardot Foundation.
https://robindesbois.org/en/a-la-trace-bulletin-dinformation-et-danalyses-sur-le-braconnage-et-la-contrebande/
Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article

Panama, la grande braderie des animaux et des végétaux sauvages

14 nov. 2022

Communiqué CITES CoP19 n°1

La 19ème Conférence de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES) s’ouvre aujourd’hui lundi 14 novembre à Panama, capitale du Panama, et se terminera le vendredi 25 novembre. Le commerce global et légal de la faune et de la flore sauvage s’élève au minimum chaque année à 100 milliards de dollars. Le trafic illégal nourri par le braconnage et la contrebande rapporte chaque année aux mafias internationales entre 7 et 23 milliards de dollars.

Le marché de la faune terrestre et marine, des bois, des fleurs et des racines s’emballe et a tiré profit de la pandémie de Covid-19. La demande mondiale en oiseaux chanteurs, en tortues, en poissons ornementaux a augmenté. En période de confinement, les classes sociales moyennes et supérieures avaient à la fois besoin d’animaux de compagnie et, malgré l’escalade des prix, les moyens financiers d’en acheter via l’Internet et les réseaux sociaux. Il en va de même pour des sous-produits animaux et végétaux supposés antidépresseurs, roboratifs ou aphrodisiaques selon des rumeurs opportunément distillées.

Plus de 180 Etats-Parties à la CITES sont représentés à Panama. La présence de la Russie est incertaine.
Robin des Bois est observateur à la CITES depuis 33 ans. Les informations et analyses de son bulletin trimestriel “A la Trace” (“On the Trail” en version anglaise) sur le braconnage et la contrebande sont référencées dans les propositions d’inscription à l’Annexe II (contrôle du commerce international) de 6 espèces de tortues musquées, de 3 espèces de tortues à carapace molle, du lézard à cornes du désert et du crotale des bois ainsi que dans la proposition de suspendre tout commerce international de sous-produits de l’hippopotame notamment les ivoires et les peaux. La proposition d’inscription à l’Annexe II des concombres de mer du genre Thelenota (dont l’holothurie ananas) soumise par l’Union européenne, les Seychelles et les Etats-Unis d’Amérique est la suite logique de l’inscription des holothuries à mamelles soutenue et argumentée par Robin des Bois pendant la 18ème Conférence de la CITES à Genève.

Pernambouc (Paubrasilia echinata)
Le Brésil propose l’inscription du bois de Pernambouc en Annexe I (interdiction du commerce international). Elle s’appliquerait à toutes les parties et produits du Pernambouc, y compris les archets pour les instruments de musique, sauf les instruments de musique et leurs parties des orchestres en tournée et des musiciens solistes munis de passeports musicaux. Le Pernambouc est inscrit à l’Annexe II depuis 2007 avec une exemption pour les archets. L’inscription du bois de Pernambouc à l’Annexe I de la CITES réduirait la pression sur les dernières populations natives de l’espèce. Les gouvernements successifs, l’IBAMA (Instituto Brasileiro do Meio Ambiente e dos Recursos Naturais Renováveis) et les ONG brésiliennes déplorent l’exploitation clandestine et persistante de ces arbres à taille moyenne des forêts atlantiques pour la fabrication d’archets pour violons, violes, violoncelles et contrebasses. Des artisans luthiers français dans la deuxième partie du 18ème siècle considéraient que le bois de Pernambouc était idéal et irremplaçable pour les archets des instruments à cordes. Selon le Larousse du 20ème siècle, “la famille des Tourte a été pour l’archet ce que Stradivarius a été pour les violons”. L’archet est constitué d’une baguette de Pernambouc et par tradition d’une mèche de crin de cheval enduite de colophane. Plus de 300 ans après, les Pernambouc sont en voie de disparition. Les Etats-Unis, tous les pays de l’Union européenne, le Canada, la Chine, l’Australie, la Suisse, l’Argentine et Hong-Kong sont les principaux importateurs légaux ou illégaux de baguettes d’archet. Les Etats-Unis, le Japon, la Belgique, l’Allemagne, les Pays-Bas, le Portugal et la France sont les principaux importateurs de bois de Pernambouc. En 2017, 400 baguettes d’archet de source illégale ont été saisies à destination de la France dans l’aéroport de Guarulhos, Etat de Sao Paulo.

Saisie des 400 baguettes d’archet envoyées par colis postal en France en 2017.
Photo extraite de la proposition du Brésil.

 

En 2019, 102 grumes de bois de Pernambouc de source illégale ont été saisies à Aracruz, dans l’Etat de l’Espírito Santo.
En 2018, 20.747 baguettes de source illégale ont été saisies à Joao Neiva, Espírito Santo.
En avril 2022, 120 baguettes d’archet et 114 archets de source illégale ont été saisis en partance pour l’Angleterre à l’aéroport de Guarulhos.

Shama à croupion blanc (Kittacincla malabarica)

© Himanshu Pandav

Le shama à croupion blanc est un bon chanteur et dans les forêts de 15 pays d’Asie, il imite les chants des autres ténors de la forêt. Il est de plus en plus apprécié comme animal de compagnie et recherché comme compétiteur dans les concours de chant avec paris. Déjà en 1993, puis en 2004, Nash et Shepherd, experts en passereaux chanteurs d’Asie, avaient recommandé l’inscription en Annexe I ou II du shama à croupion blanc. En Indonésie, pays principal de la consommation du shama à croupion blanc en cage, l’espèce a été courant 2018 inscrite sur la liste des espèces protégées mais après quelques semaines de manifestations des oiseleurs, des organisateurs de concours de chant et de soi-disant passionnés, elle en a été retirée. En 2019, la réunion plénière du groupe de spécialistes des passereaux d’Asie en est venue à la conclusion que la plupart des populations d’Asie du sud-est devaient être considérées comme vulnérables, en danger, ou même éteintes à l’état sauvage. L’UICN a trop longtemps classé l’espèce en préoccupation mineure au motif que son aire de répartition couvrait l’Asie continentale et l’Asie du sud-est. Entre janvier 2019 et mai 2022, au moins 40.000 shamas à croupion blanc vivants ont été saisis aux frontières de la Thaïlande, de la Malaisie, de Singapour, du Vietnam et du Cambodge en l’absence de certificats vétérinaires et de données sur les expéditeurs et les destinataires. Un nombre important de shamas à croupion blanc mélangés à des shamas dayal est expédié par voie maritime de la Malaisie à l’Indonésie. La Malaisie et Singapour proposent l’inscription en Annexe II du shama à croupion blanc. Les deux pays estiment et prouvent qu’au rythme passé, actuel et prévisible des prélèvements par piégeage, l’espèce et les sous-espèces seraient menacées d’extinction dans un avenir proche si une réglementation internationale n’encadre pas le trafic.

Bulbul à tête jaune (Pycnonotus zeylanicus)
En se fondant sur les mêmes motifs toutefois aggravés par une aire de répartition aujourd’hui limitée à Singapour, à quelques îlots en Malaisie péninsulaire, sur l’île de Bornéo et à Brunei où il ne resterait que 5 individus, la Malaisie, Singapour et les Etats-Unis d’Amérique proposent de faire grimper de l’Annexe II à l’Annexe I les bulbuls à tête jaune.

Raies d’eau douce
Le Brésil propose l’inscription en Annexe II des raies d’eau douce, stars du marché international des poissons ornementaux. Les Potamotrygon wallacei et Potamotrygon leopoldi endémiques du Rio Negro, du Rio Xingu, de l’Iriri et de la Curua dans le bassin de l’Amazone se vendent entre 130 et 1000 € par spécimen sur le marché international. Le Brésil a interdit leur exportation depuis 2017 mais les contrebandiers les déclarent sous de fausses appellations. Pour contrer ce mode opératoire, le Brésil demande l’inscription de 7 espèces ressemblantes du genre Potamotrygon en Annexe II. Les acheteurs sont implantés en Asie, en Europe (en particulier en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas et en Suisse) et aux Etats-Unis d’Amérique. Les grossistes et les détaillants sont toujours à la recherche de nouveaux “modèles” à vendre ou à hybrider dans des élevages constamment réalimentés en géniteurs pillés dans les cours d’eau. Les zones de pêche s’étendent pour trouver des “Black Diamond”, des “White Diamond” et des “Super White”. Le Brésil déploie des efforts pour contrer le braconnage et la contrebande et saisit régulièrement des lots de raies d’eau douce dans les aéroports internationaux ou des lots qui prennent par route la direction des Etats-Unis via la Colombie. Le Brésil en appelle maintenant à la coopération internationale. La position des 27 pays de l’Union européenne est à ce jour négative. “Il n’est pas sûr que l’inscription en Annexe II puisse aider à combattre le trafic illégal” dit-elle. Dans le bocal de l’Union européenne s’agite le puissant lobby de l’aquariophilie.

Saisie dans le Comté de Montgomery,
Etat du Texas, Etats-Unis d’Amérique, août 2021 (cf. “A la Trace” n°33 p.222).
© TPWD

Pléco-zèbre (Hypancistrus zebra)
Endémique du Rio Xingu dans le bassin de l’Amazone, un pléco-zèbre se vend 400 € au détail dans les magasins d’aquariophilie du monde entier. Il est interdit de capture, de transport et de commerce au Brésil depuis 2005 et classé en danger critique d’extinction depuis 2014. Le Brésil veut en interdire tout commerce international (Annexe I). Pêché uniquement pour ses qualités ornementales, il est aussi maintenant affecté par le barrage hydroélectrique de Belo Monte. Les pléco-zèbres vivent dans des fissures rocheuses et défendent vivement leur territoire. Les mâles surveillent les œufs déposés dans les recoins des crevasses. Environ 10.000 pléco-zèbres passeraient chaque mois en contrebande via la Colombie et le Pérou pour alimenter le commerce international. Une opposition de l’Indonésie est prévisible ; elle tient à protéger ses exportations de pléco-zèbres d’élevage et au-delà des poissons-cardinaux de Banggai (Pterapogon kauderni). Là encore, l’Union européenne est plus que réticente. Elle risque de s’aligner sur l’Indonésie, un partenaire essentiel pour l’importation de l’huile de palme et accessoirement de Gaz Naturel Liquéfié. Toutefois, elle “pourrait soutenir” une inscription en Annexe II avec un quota zéro d’exportation des spécimens sauvages, une de ses complications favorites très appréciée du secteur marchand.

Saisie à l’aéroport international de Manaus,
Etat de l’Amazonas, Brésil, Novembre 2017 (cf. “A la Trace” n°19 p.10-11)
© PF

Requins
Les requins sont mis au supplice. A chaque CITES plénière depuis 2007, des espèces sont inscrites au compte-gouttes à l’Annexe II. Pour les requins requiem de la famille Carcharhinidae, c’est l’union sacrée d’Israël à la Syrie en passant par le Panama, le Sri Lanka, l’Union européenne et le Royaume-Uni. Leurs petits ailerons font du big business. Tous les requins seront peut-être enfin inscrits à l’Annexe I quand ils seront éteints.

Hippopotame (Hippopotamus amphibius)
Hisser l’hippopotame de l’Annexe II à l’Annexe I ne va pas être facile. Il pèse trois tonnes et dans cet exercice il ne faut pas compter sur le WWF qui parle à l’oreille de l’Union européenne. L’Annexe I “priverait certains pays des bénéfices du trafic international légal de l’ivoire et d’autres parties de l’hippopotame et ne résoudrait pas les causes principales de la situation critique de l’espèce en Afrique de l’ouest et en Afrique centrale.” Lesdites causes principales sont la dégradation des habitats naturels, les conflits avec les activités humaines et la demande en viande sauvage. Tous les mammifères sauvages et les reptiles en sont victimes et si la position du WWF était globalement appliquée, la CITES avec ses Annexes n’aurait plus qu’à rentrer au vestiaire et à clore les débats. La vérité est que l’ivoire d’hippopotame est de plus en plus apprécié, qu’il se vend entre 300 et 400 €/kg sur le marché noir international, que dans toute l’Afrique les hippopotames sont de plus en plus braconnés pour leurs dents, que braconner un hippopotame c’est beaucoup moins risqué pénalement que braconner un éléphant et que les douanes du monde entier saisissent des incisives et des canines d’hippopotame, des queues, des housses de fusils en peau, des peaux et des crânes démunis de tous les certificats applicables à l’Annexe II.

Eléphant d’Afrique (Loxodonta africana)
La logique de la protection et la fuite en avant de l’extinction s’opposent.
Le Burkina Faso, la Guinée équatoriale, le Mali et le Sénégal proposent l’inscription de tous les éléphants africains en Annexe I en continuité de l’inscription en Annexe I de tous les éléphants d’Asie en 1975. Le numéro 34 de “A la Trace” publié le 25 octobre démontre que le braconnage panafricain et la contrebande d’ivoire et d’autres parties de l’éléphant sont actifs et inventifs. Singapour a saisi 430 ivoires travaillés dans un lot de cages à oiseaux en provenance d’Afrique en septembre 2021. La Zambie a saisi 193 kg de peaux d’éléphant en octobre 2021 à la frontière avec le Zimbabwe. La contrebande d’ivoire entre l’Afrique et l’Asie a connu une pause forcée pendant la période Covid-19. L’ivoire brut voyage par voie maritime mais la reprise en 2022 du trafic est incontestable. 456 kg d’ivoire brut (avec 6 tonnes d’écailles de pangolin) ont été saisis au Vietnam en janvier. Six tonnes d’ivoire brut (avec 29 kg de cornes de rhinocéros et des canines présumées de tigre d’élevage) ont été saisies en Malaisie en juillet. Avec la saisie de 938 kg d’ivoire en novembre 2021 et de 1500 kg en mai 2022, la République Démocratique du Congo confirme son rôle majeur de réservoir d’ivoire brut illégal. Robin des Bois, la Fondation Franz Weber, la Fondation Brigitte Bardot et les 80 autres ONG membres du réseau Species Survival Network (SSN) soutiennent la proposition. Dans l’hypothèse où elle serait approuvée par les 2/3 des pays présents à Panama, il est important de noter que l’exportation des trophées de chasse “sportive” resterait autorisée sous réserve de l’approbation des pays destinataires. Les pays d’Afrique australe ne seraient pas en conséquence privés des ressources du tourisme cynégétique. Robin des Bois déplore que la France n’ait pas activement soutenu cette proposition au sein de l’Union européenne.
Le Zimbabwe va à l’encontre du Burkina Faso, de la Guinée équatoriale, du Mali et du Sénégal. Il propose des amendements à l’inscription à l’Annexe II des populations d’éléphants du Botswana, de la Namibie, de l’Afrique du Sud et du Zimbabwe qui permettraient de vendre sur le marché international des peaux, des poils et d’autre part les “stocks d’ivoire enregistrés appartenant aux gouvernements” et exclusivement à des partenaires commerciaux ayant une législation nationale et soumis à des mesures de contrôle garantissant que l’ivoire acheté ne sera pas réexporté.
Cette proposition dans son ensemble est dangereuse pour les éléphants, tous les éléphants d’Afrique et d’Asie. L’ivoire, les poils et les peaux vendus sous le sceau de la légalité seraient infiltrés d’une manière ou d’une autre par de l’ivoire, des poils et des peaux mis sur le marché sous le sceau du braconnage et de la contrebande.
Cette proposition n’a aucun sens dans la mesure où l’importation de l’ivoire brut ou travaillé est interdite en Chine, dans l’Union européenne, aux Etats-Unis et dans bien d’autres pays ou sous-régions. Seul le Japon peut-être pourrait tenter le coup sauf que son marché intérieur est en déclin et que le principal débouché des ivoiriers japonais est la contrebande vers la Chine.
“Il est temps de supprimer l’anomalie qui fait que 256.000 éléphants inscrits à l’Annexe II sont traités contre la volonté des personnes qui les possèdent et qui ont le plus à perdre ou à gagner avec eux” dit le Zimbabwe. En fait, le Botswana revendique 131.626 éléphants, la Namibie 22.754, l’Afrique du Sud 18.841 et le Zimbabwe 82.630 en se référant au Rapport sur le statut de l’éléphant d’Afrique de 2016 basé sur des suppositions et des estimations aléatoires qui ne tiennent pas compte de la migration transfrontalière des éléphants entre le nord du Botswana, le sud-ouest de la Zambie, le sud-est de l’Angola et le nord-ouest du Zimbabwe, soit la zone de conservation transfrontalière du Kavango-Zambèze dite aussi KAZA “Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area.” La KAZA s’étend sur 550.000 km2. Un éléphant peut être le matin au Zimbabwe, le soir en Zambie et quelques jours après en Namibie. Les statistiques sur les éléphants de la KAZA peuvent être faussées par un double voire un triple comptage. Les éléphants sont trompeurs.

Grenouilles de verre (Centrolenidae)
Elles sont les nouveaux gadgets de compagnie. La mode est fulgurante et persistante. Aux Etats-Unis, 13 spécimens ont été importés en 2016 et 5744 en 2021 plus les clandestines. Originaires d’Amérique centrale et d’Amérique du Sud tropicale, les grenouilles de verre partent à la casse. Les 154 espèces sont menacées. Cette proposition est présentée par le Costa Rica, l’Argentine, le Brésil, l’Equateur, le Salvador, le Panama, le Pérou, la République Dominicaine, les Etats-Unis d’Amérique, la Côte d’Ivoire, le Gabon, la Guinée, le Niger et le Togo. L’Union européenne est contre cette proposition qu’elle risque de faire échouer comme en 2019.

Grenouilles toujours
Elles, elles ne sont pas des bêtes de compagnie. Elles sont capturées et tuées pour leurs cuisses principalement en Indonésie et en Turquie, écorchées, mutilées, congelées, irradiées et servies chaudes. Dr. Sandra Altherr, Pro Wildlife, et Charlotte Nithart, Robin des Bois,, organisent un “side event” dans les coulisses de la CITES sur ce scandale environnemental, alimentaire et commercial le 22 novembre à 19 heures en présence d’experts turc, allemand et français. Voir à ce sujet le rapport “Deadly Dish” au sujet des importations dans l’Union européenne de cuisses de grenouilles en provenance d’Asie et d’Europe de l’Est.

Accès à tous les numéros de “A la Trace”, le bulletin trimestriel d’information et d‘analyses sur le braconnage et la contrebande d’animaux menacés d’extinction de Robin des Bois, réalisé avec le soutien de la Fondation Franz Weber et de la Fondation Brigitte Bardot.
https://robindesbois.org/a-la-trace-bulletin-dinformation-et-danalyses-sur-le-braconnage-et-la-contrebande/

 

 

 

 

 

Imprimer cet article Imprimer cet article